## Swansboro United Methodist Church 2024

### I. Board of Stewards

The Board of Stewards (BoS) functions as the Administrative Board of the church as called for in the Discipline of the United Methodist Church and for 2024 will combine the work of the Church Council, Trustees, and Finance.



## The 2024 Board will Consist of 17 Members\*:

Pastor: Kevin Baker

Pastor: Regina Harrison

**Board Chair:** David Wilmoth (votes only to break ties and also serves 3-year terms)

**Lay Leader:** Butch Bennett (3-year terms)

**Staff Parish Chair:** Julia Wax (3-year terms)

Financial Administrator/Secretary: Andrea Assenzio (non-voting if staff)

Lay Member to Annual Conference: Bren Feutz

Lay Member to Annual Conference: Caroline McClure

Trustee: Trustee: Trustee (chair): Paul Williams Linda Folger

Finance (Treasurer): Finance: Finance (chair): Sandy Murray David Griffith Crystal Drum

At Large: At Large: At Large: Rhonda Norris Diane Brooks Roger Fulp

Each class is to consist of one trustee, one finance and one at large representative. Nominees should have some experience in administration for which they are nominated, and all should have a heart for service. Board members may serve no more than two consecutive terms on the Board (total of six years). They shall be eligible to serve again as a member of the Board after a one-year break in service.

The pastors and Lay Leader will be voting members of the Board, but the pastors have voice but not vote on matters pertaining to trustees.

<sup>\*</sup>At least one of the nominees should also be a liaison to the Childcare Committee.

## II. Church Committees (alphabetical order)

## 1. Child Care Advisory Committee

Supports and helps to guide the ministry of our SUMC Child Care Ministry and works to strengthen this ministry and its relationship to the larger congregation. Works closely with the Child Care Director. **Meets approximately every other month.** 

Chairperson: Anne Scott, Vicechair: Paul Williams, Secretary: Gwen Macias

202420252026Erica RogersGwen MaciasCathy HarrisAnn ScottJill GeelhartKathy FairchildWalt RobersonJacob SmithName Needed

Director: Allison Cowell; Assistant Director: Linda Linn; Pastor: Kevin Baker

SPRC Rep: Julia Wax or Designee; Education Rep: Chris Wilson; Staff Rep: Kevin Baker

### 2. Communications and Evangelism Team

Helps the church "tell our story" as we seek to make a kingdom impact for God in our local community. Oversees internal and external communications including such things as website, emails, social media, signage, etc. Leads the congregation in reaching out to people with the good news of Jesus Christ and find innovative ways to welcome and receive new people into our congregation so they might develop spiritual friendships and grow in their relationship with God and others. **Meets bi-monthly or as needed.** 

**Chairperson:** Nat Fahy

Alysia Barth, Kevin Baker, Sanders Hall, Dina Murray, Ashlynn Minch, Ashley Hopkins,

Denise Baker

### 3. Education Committee

Plans and coordinates our spiritual formation ministry for all ages, with special focus on our kids and students. Includes visioning for ministries like children's church, children's ministries, VBS, college students, youth and young adults, family ministries, Sunday School, etc. **Meets every other month.** 

Chairperson: Chris Wilson

Youth Ministry: Layne Harpine; Children's Ministries: Chris Wilson; College Students:

Chris Wilson

Child Care Advisory Committee: Chris Wilson

Family Ministries: Lisa O'Connell; Sunday School Superintendent: Named Needed; Nursery Coordinators: Jessica Shaheen and Jamie Cruz; At Large Members: Susan Fulp,

Mary Ellington

## 4. Lay Leadership / Nominations Committee

Responsible for nominating and organizing the members and chairs of each ministry area, committee, and team in the church on an annual basis. Per the Book of Discipline, it is chaired by the Pastor. **Meets 3-4 times each fall unless otherwise noted.** 

**Chairperson:** G. Kevin Baker (Lead Pastor)

2024 2025 2026

Adele Brewster Jimmy Williams Gabbie Niski
Joanne Scholl Lacy Jenkins Name Needed
Chris Wilson Pat Raper Ben Chapman

Committee includes Lay Leader; Lay Members to Annual Conference

# 5. **Missions / Serve Coordinator** – Carolyn Amdahl (co chair); Tammy Taylor (co-chair)

Team will meet quarterly on February 7, May 2, August 22, and October 3 at 6:30 pm in Bldg 2.

Secretary: Vacant

Appalachia Service Project (ASP): Emily Egerton, Chuck Egerton

Church and Society: Vacant

Congregations for Children (C4C): Name Needed (through 2023-2024 school year)

Disaster Relief: Layne Harpine
Food Missions: Carolyn Amdahl
Food Pantry: Carolyn Amdahl
Hope Mission: Bobbi Edge

Backpack Friends: George Gardner Haiti Mission: Lynn Rouse, Linda Mitchell

Prison Ministry / Disciple Outreach Ministry (DBOM): Jermaine Gardner

The Refuge: Chip Olmstead

WOEOM Representative (The Hem): Lynn Rouse

ZOE: Linda Folger

### 6. Staff Parish Relations Committee

Similar to a personnel committee; includes conferring with and counseling pastor and staff regarding effectiveness in ministry (gifts, skills, time, priorities for mission and ministry); evaluates pastors and staff annually; communicates and interprets to the congregation the nature and function of ministry in the UMC; develops and approves written ministry descriptions and titles for staff and oversees hiring; consults with pastor and staff concerning education, spiritual renewal, compensation, family needs, etc.

Meets monthly unless otherwise scheduled.

Chairperson: Julia Wax Vice Chair: Bob Brooks Secretary: TBD 2024 2025 2026

Julia WaxBetty TidquistMary BehanPaula RobersonBob BrooksMike LoveBubba McLean

Committee includes Lay leader and Lay Members to Annual Conference

### 7. Stewardship Committee

Works closely with our finance team and seeks to guide our congregation to grow in generosity with our time, talents, and financial gifts. **Meets monthly or as needed.** 

Chairperson: Cleve Folger

2024 2025 2026

Butch Bennett Name Needed Cleve Folger
Andrea Wilmoth Patti Heller Name Needed

Finance Committee Rep: Andrea Assenzio

## 8. Worship Committee

Our overall purpose is to collaborate with and support the pastoral staff and music leaders to provide meaningful worship. Assists in developing seasonal and special services, oversee laity in their support roles as greeters, ushers and acolytes. We coordinate the use of church facilities for weddings and funerals.

Co-Chairs: Cleo Croom; Additional Co-Chair: Sue Young

Secretary: Sally Barnes, Acolytes: Bren Feutz; Communion: Sally Barnes; Visitor Gifts: Lynn Rouse; Funerals: Carol McLean; Music: Kristin Visneki; Name Tags: TBE; Ushers:

Susan Stuart; Weddings: Jane Sylvester; Pastors: Regina Harrison, Kevin Baker

**At Large Members:** Sanders Hall, Neva Tucker, Carol Scull, Gregg Casper Gaylon, Diana Gainey, and Dee Dee Midgett, Mary Behan, Denise Dunston, Dolly Ramirez, and Debbie

Morris

# III. Other Ministries (printed for information)

## Congregational Care -

Security Team Leader: Ben Chapman

Advent and Lenten Meal Coordinator: Patti Heller

Church and Society: Andrea Wilmoth SUMC Emergency Plan: Layne Harpine

SAM: Chair: Names Needed

## **United Women of Faith (UWF)**

Co-Presidents: Betty Tidquist and Lynn Rouse

Secretary: Kathaleen "Kathy" Leach

Treasurer: Donna Huffman

Coordinator for Membership, Nurture, and Outreach: Melissa Bolling

### **United Methodist Men**

Treasurer: Jim Drum

Peanut Ministry Chair: Greg Kizziah Peanut Ministry Chair Emeritus – Mel Gus

Assistant Peanut Chair (Jars) and Chaplain: Bill Smith

Online Orders: Frank Cizerle

Latest Update 1/5/2024